Supermoon

It won’t happen again until 2034. A supermoon. Of course I was thrilled that there would be a bigger full moon making a grand spectacle to us earthlings on November 14, 2016.

I first saw it rising when I was driving through downtown Salt Lake City and marveled at how neat it looked peaking between the (small-ish) skyscrapers. That’s when it looked the most massive. I wish I had had my camera with me to capture it at that moment.

_mg_3940

But I took a picture from my balcony as soon as I got home. It was still big and bright and beautiful.

I don’t know quite what it is about the moon that I’ve always found so beautiful. Maybe because it’s got this subtle beauty and bright enough light to fill the dark of night. Nighttime often brings deep thoughts and solitude. Except the moon is there. You share some of your quietest moments  with the moon. Luna looks over you and reminds you there is still light in the dark. There is someone watching, listening.

The moon doesn’t just feel like a scientific phenomenon of waxing and waning.

It’s personal to the earth and it’s inhabitants. It’s something close staring back at us from outer space – and it’s ours… out of this big, grand, expanding universe we live in.

And that’s only part of the reason why I love the moon.

 

Leave a Reply

