Craving

In response to the Daily Post…

This week marks my entrance into the 3rd trimester of my pregnancy and I have to say, my cravings haven’t been anything too weird like “pickles & ice cream” however pickles always sound good as well as ice cream – just not together.

I’ve been on a roller coaster ride of what sounds appetizing and what doesn’t.

During my 1st trimester, pretty much all meat besides chicken made me want to vomit. I couldn’t even handle the smell of meat.  I wasn’t eating much during this phase. But luckily I never experienced morning sickness.

Then by the time I hit my 2nd trimester I started craving meat again – especially red meat. And I was starved ALL the time. I was like a cow grazing in a field. Even if I wasn’t necessarily hungry I could still eat.  And my sweet tooth you ask? Well, it only got worse. It was an eating sensation during this time!

Now that I’m in my 3rd trimester, meat doesn’t totally make me nauseous, but it doesn’t really sound very good either. I’ll eat it reluctantly, but mostly because I know I need to eat protein, and I can’t seem to get enough in the other protein alternatives. I feel like I never have an appetite anymore. And I’m also eating much smaller portions than I thought I would, mainly because it doesn’t seem to fit in my stomach anymore. For the first time in my life, I’m eating solely for survival and to not starve the baby growing inside of me. If you know me, you know that I’ve always been a foodie. Eating is practically a hobby and in most cases a form of entertainment.

So while I can’t imagine my appetite ever going back to normal after the baby arrives, I still have a sweet tooth. In fact, the only thing now that ever sounds good is chocolate, cake and brownies, and sugar cereal. And when I need something salty, all I want is cheese or something bitter like a pickle.

I hope my little one isn’t a complete sugar addict by the time she is born… 😉

3 thoughts on “Craving

  1. Hahahaha the way you’ve been lately sounds like me. I LOVE pickles and lays pickle chips are God on most days. Lately though, I cycle between wanting sugary cereal (cinnamon toast crunch), rice crispie treats, cheese, and a full blown home cooked southern dinner lol. I either want energy required real food or absolute trash. I was blessed to never have morning sickness (thank god) and the only outright aversion I’ve experienced (so far) is tuna (the smell does me in). But my first trimester I ate everything in sight. I was a little underweight so it was probably a good thing but lately (at 21 weeks) I find myself not being all that hungry and when I am it’s the middle of the workday and the only thing around is trash. So my diet hasn’t been the best 😔 The joys of pregnancy right? Lol. What are you having?

    • OMG I am obsessed with those dill pickle potato chips!!! They are so satisfying. And yes, I either want vegetables and good food or complete garbage food. Or cereal for every meal of the day. I’m having a girl! what are you having?

Leave a Reply

