Mountain

If you listen, you can hear the voice of the mountain when you go up the canyon, or go on a hike, or simply sit there and stare in awe at a mountain. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I really believe that different parts of nature have their own voice.  You really have to be in tune.

I have spent a lot of time in the mountains in my years growing up near them. The mountains are a part of who I am. I love the way they smell, I love how grand they are, and the way their grandness inspires me. Whether by staring at the view and feeling very small, being lost in the midst of them, or by accomplishing a feat of reaching the top of one. There are different ways to have an emotional connection to a mountain.

Timpanogos Mountain, located in Utah along the Wasatch Mountain Range, is probably my most beloved mountain. It’s the most majestic thing I’ve ever seen from both sides. I’ve gotten to see most parts of it, and last summer finally made the trek to reach the top of the 11,752 ft mountain top with my boyfriend. We left after midnight to reach the top at sunrise. It was stunning! And quite a trek with the most epic views from all sides.

I have lived within site of this mountain for half my life and even usually have had a bedroom window view of it two different times. It’s magnificent any time of year, whether it’s snowcapped or covered in green. It’s spectacular at sunrise and sunset. It has always been like this kind of comfort to me. Like the wise old man in the background standing to protect you. I moved away from it’s view a year ago and to say I miss seeing it’s beautiful face every day would be an understatement. But I don’t live too far away now, and I still get to see it pretty often which almost makes it more special.

It’s something you have to see in person to really grasp it’s grandness. Also, I’m always photographing it.

_MG_1119_MG_2619Timpanogos

Leave a Reply

